You are here

IATSE Endorses Richard Trumka for President of AFL-CIO

Photo caption: President Loeb with AFL-CIO President Emeritus John Sweeney

On June 17, 2009, IATSE President Matthew D. Loeb announced the IA’s support of Richard Trumka as the next President of the AFL-CIO.  The federation’s current fourth-term Secretary-Treasurer, Trumka has been a member of the AFL-CIO Executive Council since 1989.  He is also a member of President Obama’s Economic Recovery Advisory Board.

Current President John Sweeney previously announced his retirement after 14 years on the job. The new president will be elected at the federation’s September convention in Pittsburgh.