You are here

Jewish Labor Committee Honored President Loeb

Photo caption: AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka presents International President Loeb (left) with the Jewish Labor Committee’s human rights award.

International President Matthew D.  Loeb was honored on January 12, 2012 by the Jewish Labor Committee at their 41st Human Rights Awards Dinner held at the Hilton New York Hotel.  Also honored at the event were George Gresham, President of the United Healthcare Workers East, and Steven M.  Safyer, M.D., President and Chief Executive Officer of Montefiore Medical Center.  A special presentation was made to Denis M. Hughes, who formally announced his retirement in December as President of the New York State AFL-CIO.

AFL-CIO National President Richard Trumka, an honorary co-chair of the dinner committee, presented the award to President Loeb.  During his introduction, President Trumka stated: “Your union builds power for working people everywhere, and through solidarity the hard-working union workers in the entertainment industry help each other live out fulfilling careers with decent pay, good health insurance and the hope of a secure retirement.”  As he presented the Award he said “Matthew Loeb, it’s my pleasure to present you with the Jewish Labor Committee’s human rights award for your important work reaffirming the relationship between the Jewish community and the American labor movement and for your efforts to expand advocacy and education for workers’ rights here in America and around the world.”

The Jewish Labor Committee was founded in 1934 to mobilize unions, American Jewish organizations and fraternal societies to help fight Nazism in Germany.  Today it is an independent, secular organization that enables the Jewish community and the trade union movement to work together on important issues of shared interest and concern, in pursuit of their shared commitment to economic and social justice.