You are here

National Labor College Honors President Loeb

Photo caption: President Loeb (center) with the other honorees of the National Labor College Awards.

The National Labor College honored International President Matthew D. Loeb at a gala at the college’s Silver Spring campus in Maryland.   The event was attended by 325 labor leaders, including AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka.  Also honored at the festivities, titled “A Time To Build,” were Mark H. Ayers, President of the Building and Construction Trades Department of the AFL-CIO; AFTRA President Roberta Reardon; Ray Hair, President of the American Federation of Musicians; SAG President Ken Howard, and Nick Wyman, President of Actor’s Equity.

”I’m honored and humbled to be here with these other labor leaders,” said President Loeb, who reflected on the fact that he had taken courses at the Labor College in the early 1990s.  The experience proved so valuable that as International President, he emphasizes education for the entire IA leadership.  “All the members of the labor movement deserve no less than the best possible representation that we can give them.”