You are here


The Actors Fund’s Annual Gala was held on April 29, 2019 at the New York Marriott Marquis, in New York City. Four members of the entertainment industry were presented with The Actors Fund’s Medal of Honor: Tony winning playwright and actor Harvey Fierstein; Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony-winning actor Rita Moreno; International President Matthew D. Loeb; and Chairman & CEO of the John Gore Organization and Tony-winning producer John Gore.

“Harvey, John, Matthew and Rita are legends in our community,” said Actors Fund Chairman Brian Stokes Mitchell. “They are rightfully due this highest honor from The Actors Fund, both for their dedication to performing arts and entertainment and for the leadership they provide in guiding the way for the next generation of artists and arts workers.”

General Secretary-Treasurer James B. Wood introduced President Loeb and presented him with the Medal of Honor.

“There is no cause more worthy than providing people with dignity. I’m proud to sit on The Actors Fund board and to do my part. I couldn’t be prouder to be awarded an Actors Fund Medal of Honor,” stated President Loeb.

The Actors Fund is a national human services organization that fosters stability and resiliency and provides a safety net for performing arts and entertainment professionals over their lifespan.