You are here

President Thomas Short is honored at the Second Annual Directors Guild of America Honors

December 10, 2000 - Jeff Bewkes, CEO of Home Box Office, Frank Capra, Jr., President of EUE Screen Gems Studios, Wilmington, North Carolina, Filmmakers Mike Nichols and Sydney Pollack, Senator Edward M. Kennedy, and IATSE International President Thomas Short were honored at the Second Annual Directors Guild of America Honors, a black-tie gala, held at The Grand Hyatt New York on December 10th.

The evening celebrated individuals and organizations responsible for distinguished contributions to our nation’s culture in support of filmmaking and television.  The membership of the Directors Guild of America, other top entertainment industry professionals, union, government and business leadership from across the nation attended.

Thomas C. Short, International President of the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) received the Union Leadership Award.  For more than 30 years since joining the Stagehands Local No. 27 in Cleveland, Ohio, President Short has been an outspoken advocate for those who work in specialized crafts within the entertainment industry. Throughout his speech, President Short asked “for continued support for all our brothers and sisters as we enter into this very challenging and demanding time.”  He continued, “We can achieve these goals through thoughtful and careful consideration, and focusing on the real issues of our industry, and getting the AMPTP and the Screen Actors Guild to the bargaining table well in advance in order to negotiate in a timely fashion and without running the risk of putting several thousands of people out of work.”